Skip to content

Fashion + Art = Minx

October 24, 2010

Maybe you’ve heard about this trend before, or maybe it’s all new to you (like it was for me before I read about it in the New York Times 2 weeks ago); Minx Nails are the new nail sensation of the moment. What exactly are Minx Nails? They are a type of nail applique that are applied to the nail. The process is fairly intricate, sometimes taking 40 minutes to complete (you need patience for this!). But I suppose the end result is worth it; nails come out shiny and chip free for at least 2 weeks.

The process goes something like this: (1) A basic manicure is done first (2) Individual films are matched to each finger, then heated using a special salon lamp, and melted onto the nail. (3) To eliminate the appearance of bubbles, pressure is applied to the top of the appliqué and stretched out towards the tip. (4) A special glass file is used to flatten the decal down so that it doesn’t rip.

The steps seem rather basic; less complicated than an acrylic nail application and at times less costly than silk wraps (I haven’t tried either).

Not every salon is on top of this new trend; I searched the Internet’s authority on Minx nails; minxnails.com, where I found an impressive list of salons from a variety of countries, including Israel, China, England, France, Brazil, and Sweden. The site also directed me to local salons that offered the service. I struggled to find any salons near Syracuse; the only salons listed in the New York area were located in NYC, like Bliss 49 on Lexington Ave and Fifi Nail Salon on West 57th St.

After a long search, I finally found one salon in Syracuse that had Minx Nails on its menu called Angel’s Nails located on 3328 West Genessee St. (315-484-9104). Unfortunately no reviews were offered; thus, the quality of Angel’s services are unknown to me.

I have never tried any fake nails; I try to keep my own nails strong by applying a weekly coat of nail oil to my nails and spoiling myself with manicures a few times a month (though the last time I received a professional mani was over 2 months ago!). If I consumed more calcium I bet that my nails would even be stronger and would be less prone to chipping as they are now. However, Minx seems like a safe alternative to Acrylic nails and it would be great to get done before a special occasion. i was thinking that Minx would make me stand out a party and make a big splash during vacation. I like that the nail service is chemical free and non-toxic. But really, the reason why most celebrities have been going gaga over Minx (yes, Lady Gaga included) are the endless possibilities. Some designs include:

Wild? Yes. Crazy? A little bit. Innovative? Yes. Yes. Yes.

I’m not a big fan of some of the more outrageous designs like skullheads, creepy crawly spiders, python, and cheetah, but some of the more subtle designs like basic black or basic red make more sense to me. I could see why celebs are into this; with their hectic schedules it makes a lot of sense to get their nails done once every 2 weeks and this way they can outdo their rivals with extra bling! Some cases of  nails:

On the cover of her single, the music sensation sparkles from head to toe to nail

Katy Perry proudly displaying her devotion to bf Russel Brand

Interestingly enough, Beyonce didn't choose to deck out her nails in Jay-Z designs

As you can see Minx applications allow your nails to stand out in a way that a regular coat of nail polish cannot do. I’d say that waiting in a salon for 40 minutes would even be worth it and the price tag of about $55 may be worth saving for. But I would not treat myself to this kind of pampering unless I was going to a high school reunion, ball, wedding, or maybe..just maybe a Halloween Party (I might be cat woman so a cheetah design may be fitting).
Now something that I don’t think I would ever do is bling my nails out in images of my bf, a la Katie Perry. Yes, I love my bf, but I think my friends would all un-friend me if I ever did something like that!
One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2012 9:18 pm

    Great weblog here! Additionally your website a lot up very fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink for your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Leave a comment