Skip to content

Fashion Controversy: FUR

October 23, 2010

My fear of fur began when I was 5 years old. Upon entering my mother’s closet (where I frequently snuck into to see what real grown ups wear) I was shocked when I saw something that looked like two ferrets attached to one another. My mother heard me screaming out loud at the top of my little lungs and ran upstairs to see what was wrong.

“Mommy, what is that I asked?” pointing to the ferrets.

“Why honey” she answered “It’s a mink stole, beautiful isn’t it?”.

Beautiful was the last adjective I would use to describe the contorted piece of “fashion”. After my scream, my mother pulled out a white chinchilla fur coat out of her closet, “When you’re older, I’ll pass this down to you”, she told me as she proudly displayed the coat.

From that point, I wanted to throw up every time I saw real fur. As an animal fanatic and supporter of the Humane Society, I simply do not understand why designers must kill between 20-80 animals for one item of clothing. This number seems so ludicrous to me, particularly when other luscious fabrics are available.

Unfortunately, an exhaustive number of high-end fashion designers joined the animal massacering club, at this year’s Fall 2010 runway shows. Nearly 40 designers featured fur in their collections. From Armani to Burberry Possum, animals were seen on display:

Burberry Fur Peacoat
Gucci Fur lined Coat

Thankfully, however, several designers said goodbye to using real fur and opted to use faux fur in their collections. This year, I give major points to Karl Lagerfeld who announced that we would stop using any real fur in his designs. Additionally, Escada who previously used fur terminated its old practices this year. Other designers who say no to fur include: Kenneth Cole, Betsey Johnson, Tommy Hilfiger, Stella McCartney, Ralph Lauren, and Ed Hardy.

Since Chanel is my absolute favorite brand, I thank Karl for managing to stay fur-free and fabulous:

Merci Beaucoup Monsieur Lagerfeld!

Something else that makes me happy is that many celebrities, like Tyra Banks, Carrie Underwood, and even Michelle Obama, have joined PETA as ambassadors for the ban of using animals for fashion. A recent line of PETA advertising campaigns have also poked fun at the fashion industry for using fur. Maybe the outrage of public figures and major organizations’ (PETA, The Humane Society) vocal protest will eventually reach those infamous designers who choose fashion over morality.

 

A Real Wife who is Real Brave

Bombshell Explodes with Animal Cruelty Protest

Comfortable in his OWN SKIN

Making Some Moves Against FUR

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabrielle permalink
    October 23, 2010 11:55 am

    That’s right!
    I would rather go naked most of the time, but especially when real fur is involved.
    Say hello to animals, not goodbye.

  2. February 2, 2013 8:07 pm

    Found your Blog on yahoo with the Keyword fur fashion. Well done, keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

