Skip to content

All About Buns

May 3, 2011

It seems that all of us are guilty of sticking to the same hairstyle. I do this frequently. For two months I wore my hair straight parted to the side with a bobby pin. Two months later I wore my hair in a Marilyn Monroe-esque style, big waves parted to the side again. After that I opted for big voluminous hair, 50’s style. It’s safe to say that the lifespan of my hairstyle is between two to six months. It’s safe and easy to do the same do every morning–there’s less thinking involved and you don’t have to scratch your head and waste time thinking about your look. Now I’ve finally started to experiment more with my look. While wearing my hair up in a messy chignon several times last month, I received abundant compliments. My mother always did tell me that I looked best with my hair up, but I never trusted her. But, as always, I have to admit that mother was right (HATE that). Wearing my hair up gives more attention to my eyes, cheekbones, and neck, all of which are strong features.

For the past week, I’ve been wearing my hair exclusively up and I find that not only is it easier but it also wears much easier in muggy days like today. I don’t have to worry as much about frizzies and I don’t have to spend hours trying to achieve attention. In fact, the messy look when it comes to buns for my round/triangular face shape is far more flattering than slick backed hair in the style of a ballerina.

Summer is a no brainer for the introduction of up-dos, so here are some looks that I’ve picked out for you pretty girls, whether you want to play it slicked back, face framing, blinged out, or braided. Take a look at these styles courtesy of Allure and Glamour, my go-to guides for hair and beauty advice.

Sleek

Natalie Portman's Polished Loop

Cone Shaped Bun

High Poof

Face Framing

Minka Kelly's Breezy Twist

Brittany Snow's Romantic Bun

Accessorized

Katherine Heigl's Low Side Bun

Diane Kruger's Glammed Out Bun

Braided

Kate Bosworth's Up-Braids

Lauren Conrad's Side Braided Bun

Also, check out these step by step video clip for lessons in how to achieve the best updos care of the lovely youtube blogger BerlinHairBaby:

Fancy Low Chignon

http://youtu.be/fJVmNre1Xlc

Retro Bouffant

http://youtu.be/k_1I13YYbsQ

Go on and have some fun experimenting 🙂 Hope that’s enough inspiration for you.

~peace. love. glamour~

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 2:39 pm

    can I get some info on how to do a 20’s or 40’s side bun??

Leave a comment