Skip to content

Warning: Tear-Prone Clothes at Anthropologie

February 21, 2011

I have been a devote fan of Anthropologie for years now. My love for the french-chic store began in high school and it has carried on into my 20’s. I love their feminine, sweet, delicate blouses, their European approved coats, their designer jeans (Yay for Joe’s). But delicate is the key word here. As beautiful as some of their apparel is, their products are just as fragile. What I mean by this is that weeks after wearing a cashmere sweater or silk top, it’s likely that my new purchase will tear.

Yes, I am a bit of a clutz and the master of spilling lattes all over my clothes or getting gum stuck to everything (I woke up in the morning to discover gum on my pillow and in my hair!). But, I find it unacceptable that half of my clothes from Anthro have been destroyed; not from my sloppiness but from their less than perfect fabrics.

What I now have is a closet half full of unwearable clothes. It’s quite tragic actually. I mean their clothes aren’t that cheap to come by, well for a girl on a college budget that is. So when I spend $120 on a shirt, I expect it to last; at least for a season. It seams that in order for my Anthro clothes to hold up, I need to handle them with ENORMOUS care; as if I were wearing the finest Chinese silk from the 16th century. Come on now, clothes are supposed to be durable.

It’s sad that even clothes in their store are hanging with rips and tears. Take a look at what I found at my last Anthropologie trip on Santa Monica Blvd.

Something in this picture doesn't belong on the rack!

I hope Anthropologie gets it’s act together. Don’t think I’ll shop there again. Sorry. I’m just as sad as you are.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sarah permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:23 pm

    I agree! I just bought a 160 dollar dress from there (granted it was on sale and I paid $40). I wore it ONCE and it tore IN THE MIDDLE along the seam. Not a place that a tear would result from bending etc. Now the fabric is frayed and it is nearly impossible to fix. I WAS a huge fan, not anymore. Also, I bought the dress 2 1/2 hrs away from my home and now they won’t take a return or exchange unless I drive back there!!!

Leave a Reply

