Skip to content

So over the Red Carpet…

February 14, 2011

It’s the day after the Grammys..not to mention Valentine’s Day (my love life is a whirlwind right now, so let’s not talk about that please!), and what is every one talking about?

Last night’s awards. In particular, Lady Gaga’s crazy egg entrance and absurd Nicki Minaj’s “Bride of Frankenstein” meets cheetah lady look are bound to be the soup du jour.

To be honest, I didn’t watch the Grammys (Give me a break I had 7 chapters of European History to read!), nor did I really have any interest. Ask me about my favorite artists and I’ll name some one that’s in his grave: Frank Sinatra, Edith Piaf, Elliot Smith…If we’re talking about new artists, I’ll name Duffy and Adele among my faves.

So when Justine Bieber, Bruno Mars, and Susan Boyle (is this a joke?), pop up on the nominee list; my level of enthusiasm plummets, not that it was ever high to begin with.

In terms of fashion..all I have to say is enough with metallics and sequins! My biggest pet peeve is an award season trend..whether it be nudes one year, the color red another year, mermaid gowns, or a grecian revival. Do designers mean to copy one another? Is there a media release to all the fashion houses that says, “All Grammy nominees will be outfitted in gold lamme dresses.” I never exactly understood how the filtration of similar ideas spreads from one designer to the next.

Attention: Kim Kardashian, Beyonce, Jennifer Lopez, Miranda Lambert, Janelle Monae, Miley Cyrus, Frida Giannini: be more original! Or find better stylists. On the other hand, there were a few style winners, who did show up in Gold: Selena Gomez in J Mendel and Heidi Klum.

I give major props to the fabulous Catherine Malandrino who designed this beautiful gown for Julliane Hough. This dress actually made a statement amidst all the sequence. With a mix of ombre and paint splatter pattern in delightful shades of fuchsia and violet, this dress was a total knockout. Interesting that a few other fashionista blogs share my opinion (i.e. twirlit)

Julianne Hough in Catherine Malandrino

On the men’s side, I was entirely disappointed. The trend for the Grammys seemed sloppy, careless, and lazy. Examples: Tyrese in jeans–come on dude it’s a red carpet event. And P. Diddy in a leather jacket; cool for clubbing not for a glamorous affair. Oh and how can we forget Usher??? I just have no idea what his thoughts were. High top canvas, brown leather, and black patent boots over ill-fitted dress pants paired with a gray tee and blazer?
At least there was one male standout. His name is Mario Lopez ( I knew we could count on Slater):

Mario Lopez. Who knows what designer he is wearing?

Maybe the stars will step it up for the Oscars..or next Grammy season. But really, I’m more apt to see real style at a fundraiser or the MET Costume Institute Gala.

So ya, I’m a bit over the Red Carpet thing…It’s a bit pathetic that with so much money and personnel, celebs can’t step up their game. Maybe we should blame their stylists.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

