Skip to content

Flannel Overload

January 19, 2011

Alright, so I’m guilty of this too. This mega flannel craze which seems to have swept the entire United States. My recent week-long trip to LA (many more details to come) proved this. I couldn’t take a break from the flannel and jean, flannel and leggings, or flannel and leather jackets combinations. Everywhere I looked..left, right, up, down…FLANNEL. It’s safe to say that I’m sick of this trend. In fact, I can’t wait for it to die down. Bring on Spring, bring on new prints, bring on florals, lace, pastels…anything, just no more plaid, checker-boxed flannel patterns!

It’s time to retire them ladies and gentlemen.

Plaid and tie combination: not bad. Sloppy Flannel and jean look on the left: bad.

Hippie Flannel

Double Take. These friends are so original.

Flannel: comfortable to skateboard in

Some may say that the grunge look is one that will always be “in” in hipster culture. I can’t exactly argue with that. But how many posers are there out there (rich celebs in particular) who try to look grungy as if they shop at the Salvation Army, when we really know that they wouldn’t dare walk into one (well, maybe Ashton Kutcher would).

I don’t mind the casual look; that “I don’t give a sh**” kind of look that says I just woke up and wore whatever I found laying on the floor. I actually do like the concept of mixing flannel with chunky belts or equestrian boots. I have seen creative takes on the trend.

However, just like with any other trend, there is a point when it becomes over-played. Cases in point:

  • Converse sneaks
  • North Face jackets
  • Uggs
  • Jansport backpacks
  • Vera Bradley granny bags
  • Silly bands
  • Sweatpants with writing on the tush
  • Trucker hats

Let’s add Flannel Shirts to this list.

~That’s my final word~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    January 24, 2011 1:42 am

    Lol, Northface and Uggs might as well be the UMass Amherst uniform!

  2. July 6, 2012 7:28 pm

    Where’s my fedora? Band t=shirts under flannel, nothing tucked in.

Leave a Reply

