Skip to content

Warning: PopSugar’s Retail Therapy is Dangerously Addictive!

December 21, 2010

What’s worse than being addicted to shopping? Being addicted to a game that fuels your shopping addiction! The game is called PopSugar’s Retail Therapy and if you haven’t heard of it yet..then all I have to say is good for you! In fact, I will warn all who read this: DO NOT START PLAYING RETAIL THERAPY. If you do, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

What is this new game that I am calling responsible for my winter break laziness, procrastination, and hours of wasted time? It’s an avatar facebook game application, in the style of those other ridiculous games like Mafia Wars and Farmville. The point of the game is to design a super store that is the best in the neighborhood. You get an impressive selection of real designer clothes to choose from like French Connection blouses, Juicy Couture denim leggings, Banana Republic Pencil Skirts, and so forth. The higher you climb on the retail chain, the better your order selections get. Now that I’m on level 15 (out of 45 levels), I can order from Diane Von Furstenburg, Barney’s NY, and Rebecca Minkoff. If I play long enough, I can turn my boutique into a real high-end retailer’s dream with brand names like Lanvin, Proenza Schouler, Alexander Wang, and Dolce & Gabanna.

You don’t just order merchandise, you also get your own closet with the ability to dress your own aviator in garments that you buy for her. Then you can decorate your store, choosing everything from the racks to the floor tiles. You can expand your store, prepare it for a sale, or deck it out with Christmas decorations.

My favorite part of the game is giving makeovers to the customers. You have the option of changing the avatars’ looks, including their hair, facial features, clothes, and shoes. It basically lets you imagine how the items in the store would look on you or your friends (of course that is if you and your friends have Barbie-doll like bodies).

Is the game fun? Yes. Although most of the game is spent waiting for merchandise to arrive and crossing your fingers that everything in your store won’t be sold out before the next shipments. Is it realistic? Actually Yes. I can attest to the fact that many aspects of the game like making sure to order enough items and don’t run out of inventory as well as managing your store right by hiring enough staff all ring true to life. But here is the big question: Is this game costly? And to that I answer yes.

One of the brilliant features of the game is that you can actually buy the items that you sell in your virtual store for yourself. All you have to do is click on the item and you are directed to the online site. Currently, TopShop, DVF, and Rachel Zoe (yes the fashion goddess) are the sponsors and have their own “pop-up stores,” where you get inspiration for your own stores’ design and can also shop for yourself (your actual self that is), your avator’s closet, or your store.

How smashing does the DVF store look?

Top Shop busy as always

Can you spot Rachel Zoe?

I can imagine that the associated brands are making a good deal of money by lending their products to the game’s catalog. It’s actually a genius idea: taking advantage of shopaholics by ignited them with shopping envy and leading them to do some online shopping of their own.

So yes, Facebook succeeds once again in keeping its members online for hours..and hours..and hours.

I’m ashamed to admit that since beginning this game, I have been on facebook nearly 24/7. I leave the game running as I check my emails, blog, and do my usual facebook thing. Then I just let the game do its own thing (you can’t control the shoppers, all you can really do is make orders and watch the shopping happen).

I’m hoping that this is just a temporary fixation…if I’m still playing this game by the time New Year’s comes, I’m asking you all please slap me and bring me back to reality! If I make it to level 45, just shoot me and/or seize my computer away from me.

Here is what I’ve been wasting my time with:

Putting my retail management experience to use:

A glimpse of my store called "Talinas"

Putting my styling experience to use:

I would so wear this out for drinks in NYC with my girls. DVF sequined blazer, Juicy Couture ankle leggings, 3.1 Phillip Lim ankle boots

Downtown Shopping Look: Topshop boots, Acne Rita Sheerling Bomber Jacket, Tory Burch Satchel

 

Elegant work function look: DVF Dress, Tory Burch heels

 

 

What to Wear to a fun New Year's Event: Stella McCartney Gold Sequined dress, Top Shop clutch, Nicholas Kirkwood Pumps

New Year's Eve Formal Gala Showstopping Marchessa Dress

X-Mas day brunch with the Boyfriend's Parents: Gap skinny jeans, Diesel T, DVF cardigan, Barney's pumps, Rebecca Minkoff purse

I have to say that this game has come in good use..it’s given me some ideas for what to wear this holiday season. Still…if I continue playing this game, I might seriously need to go to rehab.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

