Skip to content

LF Makes Its Way Up To SU

November 17, 2010

As much I love this little corner of upstate New York..the Finger Lake region, the best apple farms in the state, the acres of forests and farmlands, EVEN the unpredictable weather, all of us fashionistas know that Syracuse isn’t one of the premier destinations for shopping. Of course there are a few exceptions, like Some Girls on Marshall St., Elie Mia on South Crouse Ave (a blessing for students), Jet Black and Bounce in Armory Square. But for the most part, we lack that that “thirst for fashion” that cosmopolitan cities like New York and LA are based upon.

Much to my delight, one of my favorite boutiques from back home in Boston made a surprise visit to SU. The store is called LF and it’s  a secret gem for fashion-savvy girls. Unfortunately LF only has 4 locations, so unless you are from California, New York, Florida, or Massachusetts you most likely have not had the pleasure of exploring the boutique. But thanks to Alpha Epsilon Phi, one of the sororities on campus, every one had the chance to taste LF.

A sign inside Schine to spread the word

Two days ago, Alpha Epsilon Phi hosted a trunk show upstairs in Schine with selected merchandise from LF. As always, there were many independent designers; many who I haven’t heard of: Millau, Mia, Emma & Sam, Era of Chaos, and Love for example. That’s just the beauty of LF–it allows you to be unique; not like another conformist girl on campus, who is desperately trying to fit in.

I couldn’t wait to get my paws on the goodies at the sale. My first find was this fabulous faux fur hoodie by Millau, which had a very reasonable price of $69. I only wished that it was perhaps 2 inches longer (I’m 5’9). But, I would still buy it: it’s incredibly soft, cozy, and versatile. I can picture myself wearing this over a long sleeved shirt and wide leg jeans for a 70’s look, or over a camel colored dress and brown suede boots for a darling day look.


Out of the racks and tables of clothes, I found a few other coveted peices that I would incorporate into my night-time wardrobe, which is currently lacking enough pizzazz.

Did I mention that I love tutus? Case in point: white lace top with baby pink tutu skirt on bottom--You'll be spinning in circles in this dress.

 

Black and Lace: the ingredients for nighttime glam. You'll need a slip under this one--cream preferably. Stand out with plum tights and sexy stilettos.

I will always love ruffles. This is a perfect mini for this time of year. I can envision wearing it with a gray turtleneck and high boots.

The trunk show inspired me to check out LF’s website. While they don’t post prices or allow you to buy online, you get a great overall look of their selection. They also have a beautiful lookbook..can some one say “fantastic art director and photographer?”

Now I especially can’t wait to get back to Massachusetts for Thanksgiving Break. I will be stopping by LF in Harvard Square, Cambridge for sure.

Keep it up AEPhi! Thank you girls for introducing new designers to SU.

~peace, love, and glamour~

Leave a Reply

