Skip to content

The Accessory That All Guys Should Own

November 16, 2010

For much of my life I didn’t understand men’s fashion. Isn’t it all the same? Guys don’t care about fashion I thought. Dressing up for a guy..oh that just means throwing on a suit, dress shirt, and nice shoes. I couldn’t tell a blazer apart from a suit jacket or a T shirt from a polo shirt.

Luckily, by the age of 12 I caught onto the different components of Men’s Styles. This was due to my older brother, who did happen to be fashionable..even metro I would say these days (then again he’s a corporate lawyer with a huge budget, so he has the bucks to purchase the best stuff). Then I also had a European father, who didn’t dress like the “average American male”. That meant tighter pants, form fitting button downs, and more mute colors.

But my real education in men’s clothing began earlier this Summer when I worked as a stylist. One of my clients needed a head-to-tow makeover for his business wear, business casual wear, and nighttime attire. I had never found any job more challenging. I spent days reading Esquire, Men’s Health, GQ, and even Maxim (I omitted Playboy) cover to cover to gain a wide perspective of what men’s fashion meant and the hot trends.

Needless to say, the hard work payed off. My client was a certified stuf muffin after our two day long shopping extravaganza. Prada Shoes, Burberry shirts, Diesel Jeans, Lacoste Polos, Hugo Boss dress pants…I was proud of my work.

Outfitted in the newest, hottest fashions, my client had the full wardrobe to look professional at his Dental Practice, cool when hanging out with his guys, and a chic magnet when clubbing.

One basic piece of knowledge that I gained was the importance of ties. As an associate at Bloomingdale’s once told me, “A tie is similar to a woman’s necklace or blouse even, it can totally change the look of an outfit…It’s one of the only ways that a man can stand out from the rest of the crowd. It makes a statement.”

I’ve bought the men in my family many ties throughout the years (always seems like a redundant, yet likable gift). I would select ties according to color and print. I never paid attention to one important thing: the shape of a tie.

Well now ladies and gentlemen I can call myself a somewhat expert in the field of men’s styling. And my recommendation for men this time of year..and for many seasons ahead, is to incorporate skinny ties into your wardrobe. You don’t have to be a lawyer or insurance agent to wear one–in fact this trendy piece goes especially well with a button down shirt and jeans.

Don’t know what I mean? Take a look:

Dressed Up

Great look for a young professional. HUGO by Hugo Boss Silk Skinny Tie shown in blue $86.20 at Asos.com

Business casual must have. Slim Spot Tie shown in blue. ONLY $13.79 at Asos.com

Dressed Down

BDG cord tie available in black (shown), grey, and khaki. $19 at Urban Outfitters

Cool enough for you to be the snazziest guy in class. Striped Silk Tie in black $19 at Urban Outfitters

No need to hesitate; now is the perfect time to get one–after all, don’t you want to impress your girlfriend’s parents over the Holidays and her friends?

I found the most impressive collection at Asos.com. Prices range from $10.34 to $163.78
Also check out Express. You’ll find great options priced around $40
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

