Skip to content

Tutu Fever

November 15, 2010

I’ve always been a child at heart. A grown up, Barbie loving, frill chasing, frou-frou, ruffles, and bows kind of girl. No, I don’t dress in pink and ribbons all the time, but that part of my adolescence–those old ballet classes in particular will always be a part of me and a part of my wardrobe. Perhaps that is why I cannot help but fall in love with pieces that make me nostalgic for my childhood. This time of year, that nostalgia is caused by tutus.

American Apparel caught on the trend:

 

Multi Layered Reversible Petticoat available in white, black, ivory, and ballet pink $70 at American Apparel

Petticoat in Black.

Petticoat in Ballet Pink. Tres Romantique

These audorable tutu-ish skirts are darling little peices to include in your wardrobe. Wear them with tights, lacey or embellished in creamy/natural hues. Pair one with flats or with high heels for a glam look. Rock it with a loose fitting T, a simple tank, or a lacey top/jacket. There are many possibilities/combinations that you can create. This ruffled petticoat in particular is of great quality: it has two layers of mesh and is reversible–you can wear it with the ruffles on the inside (for a more elegant look) or outside for voluminous drama.

Interestingly enough most retailers are late in the game in terms of selling tutus. Back in March of this year Moon Young Hee showcased his versions of a tutu for the glorious Fall 2010 Paris Fashion Show.

Sophisticated & Elegant in All Black

Almost Appropriate for a Business Meeting! (Maybe if you work for Vogue)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was thrilled when I saw an enchanting vision in the display window of Some Girls Boutique. It was a whimsical dress, half tutu, half nighttime sparkle in the perfect shade of champagn. The tulle skirt gave the illusion of a weightless, light as a feather dress. I imagined myself dancing in this number on New Years Eve. I already know how I would complete this look: silver Heels, a matching satin clutch, and perhaps some hair gems holding back my voluminous locks (A trip to the salon is mandatory for this occasion).

Feel like a Princess for a Night (or two)

I haven’t had time to try this jewel yet, since I passed by the boutique on a Sunday evening when the store was closed. But I intend to stop by Some Girls the first chance that I get this weekend. I just hope that the price tag doesn’t exceed my budget!

Find the dress at Some Girls on Marshall St:

  • Address:
    145 Marshall Street
    Syracuse, NY 13210-1716
  • Phone:
    315-422-2004
  • Fax:
    518-271-1172
  • Email:
    somegirlsbtq@gmail.com

Hope you feel inspired.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy K permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:44 pm

    I agree, I love tutus! That gold dress is gorgeous too. I found one very similar in black online: http://www.lulus.com/products/peoria-black-party-dress/29831.html

Leave a Reply

