Skip to content

Dive Head First into Sparkles

November 2, 2010

Remember that fascination that you had as a little kid with glitter or anything sparkly for that matter? You would gaze at a glittery object in awe admiring its reflective colors, luminescence, and the blinding light that it produced when angled in the right direction. I don’t know about you, but my fascination has not deceased. For that reason, I am still attracted to things that sparkle and shine. That’s why I’m a happy fashionista this season where a prevalent trend is all things bright and sparkly 🙂

It’s impossible to ignore a sequined dress or mini skirt when it walks into a room; it’s also difficult not to notice a bejeweled pair of pumps. Above all, unless one is blind (God Bless), it is undoubtedly unimaginable that one can fail to notice a sparkly hat right on top of some one’s head. Even in a nightclub at 2am in an amped up, fist pumping, jiving and grooving crowd, I couldn’t take my eyes off a sequined hat worn by one of the happy front-of-stage dancers. While my friends were feeling the beats of “Sophistafunk” live in concert at the Bull & Bear Tavern, I was too busy watching the beret, which seemed to shine before me like a disco light.

Light, Camera, SHINE

Being the fashion investigator that I am, I had to scope out other hats that resembled the festive piece that I saw this past weekend. Here are my top three pics:

1. Juicy Couture Sequin Beret: $78 from Bloomingdales.com. A lightweight, wool beret that will make you a night-time or if you dare, day-time diva. Available in 2 colors: Black/Silver and Gold (shown below)

2. Juicy Couture ‘Ribs & Gems’ Beret: $65 from Nordstrom.com. A bit less loud but still sparkler-ific. A cozy knit beret embelished in beads and gems that form a floral design. Available in 3 colors: Black, Heather Cozy (shown below), and Pink Tint.

3. August Hat ‘Bountiful’ Sequin Beret: $40 from Nordstrom.com. Allover sequin delight. Fits head comfortably with an elastic brim to prevent sliding. Available in Black.

Looking at these magical berets, I cannot wait for the holiday season. I can already imagine dancing in one of these Frenchies at a New Year’s Gala–I think I should start planning club reservations ASAP!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 12:26 am

    I love this post! Go figure 🙂 There’s nothing better suited for the holidays than a little bit (or a whole lot) of sparkle!

Leave a Reply

