Skip to content

Mixed feelings about Vera Bradley

October 14, 2010

I’ve always been confused about Vera Bradley accessories. When I first saw the line, I felt a little sick to my stomach: too many florals, too granny like, too tacky. But now, Vera Bradley has improved significantly. Its line has expanded from producing only quilted bags to producing patent leather bags, classier travel bags, and more sophisticated designs/prints in general. No longer is Vera Bradley limited to poppy, bohemian-esque bags, which all look alike despite a diverse color pallet. Now Vera features plaid, cherry, and solid color options. They also now produce home decor items: bulletin boards, frames, cocktail napkins, towels, placement mats, and rugs. They even have a new makeup line, offering everything from shiny lip glosses to nail polish (can’t rate these items since I’ve never tried any). As always, I investigated the Vera Bradley collection at the SU Bookstore.

 

An abundance of bags

 

While I was originally overwhelmed by too many prints, I found some rather cute items:

 

Hello Dahlia!

 

Maybe I’m having a slight change of heart, even though I still think Vera doesn’t make the sturdiest or most attractive bags. You won’t catch me lugging around one of those to my classes, though I promise I won’t make faces at those who do!

 

A center display

 

 

Purple travel bag: the color of the season

 

Forgot to mention that Vera has relatively high priced items. The average amount for a travel bag is between $50 and $200. In my mind they are not special and I still will not buy their bags.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 1:09 am

    Love the post!! I am soooo with you on this one. I have to be honest though, after scrolling through all the photos of the tacky, floral, granny purses, I scrunched my nose up and let out a slight “ick”… oops 😉

  2. Cathy K permalink
    October 14, 2010 8:49 pm

    Hey Irene!
    I have to agree as well. I’ve always pictured Vera Bradley bags as the perfect accessories for little old rich women living in Florida or going on a cruise. They are way too loud and quilted looking for my taste. Vera Bradley bags have also always reminded me of Lilly Pulitzer bags, which I consider very hit or miss due to the loud patterns and bright colors.

    http://www.lillypulitzer.com/bags/handbags/icat/handbags/&bklist=icat,5,shop,accessoriesandgift,bags,handbags

    Awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

